The ‘Lifetime Achievement Award’ has been constituted by the Karnataka government and Bengaluru International Film Festival, from this year onwards. The chosen recipient for the year is the famous South Indian film director Mani Ratnam.

He has completed 25 years in Indian cinema with major success in Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Kannada, and Hindi cine industry. Mani Ratnam started his film journey with the Kannada film ‘Pallavi Anu Pallavi’ and is now working on ‘Chekka Chivantha Vaanam’ starring Arvind Swamy, STR, Vijay Sethupathi, Arun Vijay, Jyothika, Aishwarya Rajesh, Dayana, Prakash Raj, Jayasudha and Mansoor Ali Khan.

The Lifetime Achievement award carried a cash prize of Rs 10 lakhs, a citation and a memento. Mani Ratnam has already won 6 National Film Awards, 7 Filmfare Awards South, and 3 Bollywood Filmfare Awards.