Chennai Rockers is Tamilnadu’s franchisee of Celebrity Badminton League 2016. The team comprises of Captain – Arya, Abhinay Vaddi, Amitash, Bharath, Munna, Prasanna, Shanthanu, Vaibhav, Gayathri, Iniya and Rupa Manjari. The team will be cheered by brand ambassadors R Madhavan and Amala Paul. The team is owned by Mr. C.R. Venkatesh.

The goal behind CBL is to identify and promote aspirants to become professional players. There are also planss to select a few badminton players from local colleges and give them national exposure in terms of training and mentoring.

The matches will be hosted at Chennai, Cochin, Hyderabad and Karnataka and the final match will be held in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

The schedule of the matches are as follows:

September 18th Chennai League match 1 Nehru indoor stadium
September 24th Cochin Press meet / League match 2 Regional Sports centre stadium – RSC
October 8th Bangalore Press meet / League match 3 Karnataka Badminton Association Stadium- KBA
October 22th Hyderabad Press meet / League match 4 Gachibowli Indoor Stadium
November 12th Kuala Lumpur Finals – League / tournament & Awards KL Badminton Stadium